Between 1879 and1946 Bulgaria had been a monarchy (until 1908 a principality and kingdom (tsardom) – after that), ruled by Alexander І Battenberg (1879-86) and the rulers from the Saxe-Coburg and Gotha Dynasty: Ferdinand І (1887-1918), Boris ІІІ (1918-43) and Simeon ІІ (1943-46). In conformity with heraldic tradition and practice, Bulgarian monarchs used their own coats of arms with dynastic symbols, mottos and personal decorations. Very often these arms were conjoined – from 1886 until 1909 the royal arms contained the arms of Bulgaria and Eastern Rumelia, because the Bulgarian rulers were general governors of Eastern Rumelia (in this period the 1885 Unification of the Principality of Bulgaria and Eastern Rumelia was recognised under the international law only as a personal union). Since 1909 in the Ferdinand’s royal arms were conjoined the arms of Bulgaria, and Saxony, Orleans, Anjou (Bourbon-Sicily) and Kohary – for his grandfathers and grandmothers. The similar pattern used Simeon II – when he was in exile on his shield were placed arms of Saxony, Savoy, Bourbon-Parma and Petrovic-Negos. It must be noted that after their abdication Bulgarian rulers kept in their personal arms the arms of Bulgaria. For example, the blazon of Alexander I Battenberg as a count of Hartenau was quartered: Hessen, Battenberg, Eastern Rumelia and Bulgaria. Only Boris III died in his reign, and the royal arms, adopted by him, was very close to the state arms. The dynastic symbols he used were: the motto “Fidelity and Constancy” and the collar of the Order of the Saints Equal-to-the-Apostles Cyril and Methodius.

Apart of that, the coats of arms of the royal consorts should be mentioned. After the heraldic practice the armorial bearings of the ladies are conjoined of the arms of the husband and the arms of the father.